03 de Febrero de 2016

The following is an excerpt from an article submitter to ENLACE NEWS by freelance writer Kenneth Roberts. The full article can be read online at rgherald.com.
Twenty Rio Grande City Rattlers were named to the District 31-5A All-District teams due to their achievements during the 2015 football season, with three players awarded first team honors.
Junior running back Casimiro Olivarez, junior offensive tackle, Jose Guerrero and senior safety, Ivan Garcia were all awarded first team recognition.
Rattler offensive players achieving second team honors were sophomore quarterback Jason Perez, senior fullback, Bobby Reyes, senior slot receiver, Jesus Oviedo and junior center, Dillon McGuffin. Rattler defenders gaining second team recognition were junior lineman, Oscar Montalvo and senior inside linebacker, Kevin Garcia. Garcia also earned second team honors for his punting work.
Offensive players awarded Honorable Mention honors were senior wide receivers, Leeroy Lund, Aaron Leal and Hiram Galvan, and senior tight end, Luis Garcia. Rattler defenders achieving Honorable Mention recognition were senior defensive end, Javier De La Torre, senior inside linebacker, Juan Toscano, senior outside linebacker, Victor Martinez, junior outside linebacker, Luis Lopez, senior safety, Jorge Hinojosa, and senior cornerback, Michael Garza. Senior placekicker, Joel Duarte rounded out the Honorable Mention plaudits.
With six All-District honorees returning next year, Rattler fans should be optimistic that the 2016 football season will be highly successful.

1 Comentario

Comments are closed.